Voi[e,x,s]

About Voi[e,x,s]

While the disused railway depot called Chapelle Charbon begins its transformation into a public park, Cie MDPA – Alexandra Lacroix, Theatrum Mundi, and the composer Marta Gentilucci are developing a unique site-specific sound work, to celebrate with local inhabitants the memory and the future of this exceptional place.

In collaboration with local residents, we are building a sonic event around the names of future users of the park, combining live voices, performance, and multi-channel soundscape. From one end of the park to the other, perched on the balconies of neighbouring buildings and the roofs of surrounding warehouses, singers and audience will together explore and appropriate the space of Chapelle Charbon.

During and after its development, they will transmit sounds and movements born from the site and collected before its redevelopment, make names resonate through it, and mark it as a new public site.

Produced by Cie-MDPA – Alexandra Lacroix and the composer Marta Gentilucci, with support from IRCAM, and followed by research centre Theatrum Mundi, the long-term project enivsages as much the development of new ideas as sensory experiences. The project accompanies the transformation of the site, reaching its apex with the opening of the park in 2020.

Across the months, up until summer 2020, public workshops and recordings will be organised, contributing to the creation of a performance work of a new type. In 2020, the final performance will take its full scale and resonate in the immensity of the newly-created space.

The project was initiated by the core team as a result of discussions and experiments that took place during a series of workshops organised by Theatrum Mundi as part of the Global Cities chair at the Fondation Maison des sciences de l’homme, and supported by CGET, from June 2016 – May 2017.

Watch & Listen

  • test
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.34.49
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.27.02
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.42.06
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.38.30
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.55.34
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.54.29
  • CC – 1
  • DSC00996
  • CC – 2
  • CC – 4
  • IMG_4854
  • CC – 7
  • CC – 9
  • CC – 10
  • DSC00995_1

Team & Partners

Cie MDPA – Alexandra Lacroix : conception and production
Marta Gentilucci : composition
Theatrum Mundi : research and co-production

Funding

Fondation Orange
SPEDIDAM
Ville de Paris
Theatrum Mundi
TAKTYK

Support

IRCAM : soundscape recordings
Theatre l’Etoile du Nord : artist residency
Main d’œuvres : artist residency
TAKTYK : citizen participation


Research

Such a project – which combines urbanism, soundscape, composition, performance, and citizen participation – is not only an artistic creation but a platform for testing new approaches to the staging of public life. The research centre Theatrum Mundi is asking itself the question: how can publics better appropriate a new public space by treating it as a stage and as an instrument? A series of essays and publications around the project is published here.

Voi[e,x,s]

À propos

Alors que la friche ferroviaire dite "Chapelle Charbon" commence sa mutation en parc urbain, la Cie MPDA – Alexandra Lacroix, Theatrum Mundi et la compositrice Marta Gentilucci proposent une création musicale in situ unique pour célébrer avec les habitants la mémoire et le futur de ce lieu hors du commun.

En collaboration avec les habitants du quartier, nous construisons autour des noms des futurs usagers du parc un événement sonore et culturel, mêlant paysage sonore multi-canaux, performance et voix. D’un bout à l’autre du futur parc, perchés sur les balcons des immeubles voisins, juchés sur les toits des entrepôts alentour, les chanteurs et le public, ensemble, explorent en profondeur et s’approprient l’espace de Chapelle Charbon.

Pendant et après le réaménagement, ils transmettent les mouvements qui naissent du site et des récoltes, font résonner les noms avec l’architecture et la nature alentour pour en cueillir la mémoire et participer à sa mutation.

Produit par la Cie MPDA – Alexandra Lacroix et la compositrice Marta Gentilucci, avec le soutien de l’IRCAM, et suivi et analysé par le centre de recherche Theatrum Mundi, le projet s’inscrit sur un temps long comme création de savoirs ainsi que d’experiences sensibles. Il va accompagner la transformation du site pour atteindre son acmé lors de l’ouverture du parc en 2020. transformation.

Au fil des mois et jusqu’en 2020, de nouveaux ateliers et enregistrements seront organisés, pour contribuer à la création d’une œuvre scénique et musicale originale. En 2020, elle prendra toute son ampleur et résonnera dans l’immensité de l’espace nouvellement créé.

Le projet a été initié par l’équipe à partir des échanges et des expériences qui ont eu lieu pendant un série d’ateliers organisée par Theatrum Mundi comme partie de la chaire Villes Globales à la Fondation Maison des sciences de l’homme, avec le soutien du CGET, à partir de juin 2016 jusqu’à mai 2017.

Voir & entendre

  • test
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.34.49
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.27.02
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.42.06
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.38.30
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.55.34
  • Capture d’écran 2018-06-27 à 22.54.29
  • CC – 1
  • DSC00996
  • CC – 2
  • CC – 4
  • IMG_4854
  • CC – 7
  • CC – 9
  • CC – 10
  • DSC00995_1

Equipe et partenaires

Cie MDPA – Alexandra Lacroix : conception et production
Marta Gentilucci : composition
Theatrum Mundi : recherche et co-production

Soutien

Captation du paysage sonore :
IRCAM

Résidences artistiques :
Théâtre l’Etoile du Nord
Carreau du Temple
Mains d'Oeuvres
ARCAL

Participation citoyenne :
Vivre au 93 Chapelle
ENS de Paris - Centre social Espace Torcy
Centre de loisirs Charles Hermite
Ecoles maternelles Tchaïkovski et Torcy

Financements

Fondation Orange
DRAC Île-de-France
Région Île-de-France
Caisse des dépôts et Consignations
SPEDIDAM
Ville de Paris
Mairie du 18e
Theatrum Mundi
TAKTYK

Recherche

Un tel projet – qui croise les métiers de l'urbanisme, du paysage sonore, de la composition, du spectacle vivant, et la participation citoyenne – n’est pas qu’une création artistique mais une plateforme pour tester de nouvelles approches à la mise en scène de la vie publique. Le centre de recherche Theatrum Mundi se pose la question : comment des publics peuvent-ils mieux s’approprier un nouvel espace public en le traitant comme une scène et comme un instrument ? Ici se trouve un série d’essais et de publications autour du projet.